Happy Birthday, Grandma!

I love my grandma and today is her 77th birthday.

Sadly, I don’t know if she knows it is her birthday. 

She has Alzheimer’s disease.

Sometimes, when she sees me, she gets teary eyed. They seem like happy tears though, like she remembers my face and is joyful for our reunion. 

It is hard though… the forgetting part.

I miss her being able to remember.

Do you know the risk factors associated with Alzheimer’s disease? I have a few– mainly that I’m a female and there is a history of Alzheimer’s in my family.

Thankfully, there are many ways you can keep your brain young and protected despite all the risk factors.  That’s hopeful and maybe a cure for Alzheimer’s will be a reality in my lifetime. I pray it is.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

